Schwalbe Traditional’23: Wollaston & Ewan Take the Honours!



Race Report: The 2023 season opens with the Schwalbe Traditional, a night criterium in down-town Adelaide – The curtain lifter for the Tour Down Below. Ally Wollaston received the ladies’s race from a break and Caleb Ewan received a bunch dash end from the lads.

Watch the Tour Down Below on GCN+ Beginning on Saturday (January 14-22)
You may watch probably the most complete reside & ad-free protection of Tour Down Below on GCN+. Go deeper and get interactive with reside polls & quizzes, plus rider profiles, race updates, outcomes & extra – plus stream authentic and unique biking documentaries. Watch all of it with GCN+ on any gadget.

Caleb Ewan received the Schwalbe Traditional for males, driving for the Australian Nationwide group. The Australian of Lotto Dstny was the quickest within the bunch dash forward of the Belgian Jordi Meeus of BORA-hansgrohe and Kaden Groves of Alpecin-Deceuninck. The criterium runs over a 1.35 kilometre flat circuit via the streets of Adelaide, a bunch dash is at all times on the playing cards.

It was exhausting to get a niche on the peloton

About midway via the race, a bunch of six males managed to interrupt free and acquire a lead of 30 seconds, however they’d no probability towards the peloton, which needed a dash. Dwelling rider Caleb Ewan turned out to be the quickest of the pack, whereas Meeus completed second forward of Groves.

Win for Ewan

Schwalbe Traditional 2023 – Adelaide Males Consequence:
1. Caleb Ewan (Aus) Australia in 1:02:35
2. Jordi Meeus (Bel) BORA-hansgrohe
3. Kaden Groves (Aus) Alpecin-Deceuninck
4. Phil Bauhaus (Ger) Bahrain Victorious
5. Marius Mayrhofer (Ger) DSM
6. Campbell Stewart (NZ) Jayco-AlUla
7. Kim Heiduk (Ger) INEOS Grenadiers
8. Paul Penhoët (Fra) Groupama-FDJ
9. Bryan Coquard (Fra) Cofidis
10. Emils Liepins (Lat) Trek-Segafredo.


The ladies cross via the end

Schwalbe Traditional 2023 – Adelaide Girls
Ally Wollaston received the Schwalbe Traditional for the ladies, driving for the New Zealand Nationwide group. The 22-year-old rider was the quickest of a number one group of seven after greater than an hour of racing. She beat compatriot Michaela Drummond of Zaaf and the Dutch rider, Nina Buijsman of Human Powered Well being.

The peloton in Adelaide

The Schwalbe Traditional is historically held the week earlier than the Tour Down Below. The criterium runs over a 1.35 kilometer flat circuit via the streets of Adelaide. The race often ends in a bunch dash, however on Saturday a number one group was in a position to keep away. Wollaston, who’s below contract with AG Insurance coverage-Soudal-Fast-Step, was the quickest of the break and sprinted to victory.

Schwalbe Classic
Ally Wollaston received for New Zealand

Schwalbe Traditional – Adelaide Girls Consequence:
1. Ally Wollaston (NZ) New Zealand in 1:02:41
2. Michaela Drummond (NZ) Zaaf Biking Group
3. Nina Buijsman (Ned) Human Powered Well being
4. Ruby Roseman-Gannon (Aus) Jayco-AlUla
5. Chloe Moran (Aus) ARA Skip Capital
6. Loes Adegeest (Ned) FDJ-SUEZ
7. Anya Louw (Aus) Australia
8. Georgie Howe (Aus) Jayco-AlUla at 0:10
9. Clara Copponi (Fra) FDJ-SUEZ at 0:17
10. Daria Pikulik (Pol) Human Powered Well being.

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly e-newsletter to obtain updates and reminders on what’s cool in highway biking?



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here